• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Lunar Lander Game help

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi, i am currently coding my own version of Lunder Lander for my course work in university but i am completely new to java and game development. I have all the basics down and coded but i am really stuck on the physics that i have to use, and how i would implement them into the game and the code?

Thank you for your time and help

lowercase baba
Chrome Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Generally, you'll find unfocused questions get unfocused answers...if they are answered at all.

Most folks here would say you have done it wrong. If you have written code before you understand what you need to do...how can the code possibly be right?

You should start by figuring out all the things you need to do, then code them in pieces...add in one tiny part at a time. For example, code the acceleration to gravity. Your lander will probably crash a lot.

once that works, code the thrust of your ship. perhaps at first, your ship can only be pointed straight up, so you don't have to worry about the angle. Once that works, you can code for your ship to be angled and what the vertical thrust would be. At this stage, you might have it where you only allow 0% or 100% thrust.