• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

learning material for SCJA

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,
I am new to java but I have done bit of programming in vb.net environment.I am planning to do SCJA so i can cover java basics. Can you please help me, where should i start to prepare for SCJA exams? Please suggest me some good books and tutorials. I would appreciate ,if anyone can provide me a good road map to achieve my goal.

Author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Aqsa Mughal wrote:Hi,
I am new to java but I have done bit of programming in vb.net environment.I am planning to do SCJA so i can cover java basics. Can you please help me, where should i start to prepare for SCJA exams? Please suggest me some good books and tutorials. I would appreciate ,if anyone can provide me a good road map to achieve my goal.

Start with Head First Java, 2nd Edition by Kathy Sierra and Bert Bates (O'Reilly Media Inc., 2005).

Then check out the SCJA FAQ: http://faq.javaranch.com/java/ScjaFaq for study guide material.

Good luck.

-- Robert

author and cow tipper
Hibernate Spring Tomcat Server
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Robert is rather humble. He's the author of the O'Reiley (sp?) SCJA Certification Guide, which is an excellent resource.