• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Question about Custom tags, Listeners, and Struts

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm new to struts and custom tags, but implemented a solution where right click options are added to folders in a tree. It's working in every part of the application that uses that tree except one , where the frame also holds another tree component.
I verified that the options are being added on tree construction but after the tree is constructed nothing happens when I right click, as if the option is being removed immediately after being added. I did debugged this in JS and it appears as if this snippet from a custom tag may be getting called twice :

This is the jsp code that triggers the custom tag call:

and this is the struts xml that places the right click component into the tree:

My question is how can i trace where the second call is coming from? I don't quite understand how the listener is being called. The inside of the cm.render method is null the second time around and the reason why my right click components are not present when i right click.
My theory is that node object is being reset when the 2nd tree (which doesn't have right click options) is being created in the frame.