• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Random questions about constructors, abstract, etc.

Ranch Hand
Netbeans IDE Chrome Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
There are a few questions I, a newb, have just to clarify a few things I'm studying in these few chapters for school.
---

In a hierarchy of subclasses, when you use "super" in the constructor, which constructor does it actually call? The superclass immediately above, or the one all the way at the top?

What would be the point of using "this" in the definition of a constructor, just to call a different constructor of the same class? It seems unnecessary, but that is just because I'm not fully understanding it I'm sure?
Like:

Can anyone tell me what the importance is of creating a copy constructor? A clone instructor? What the difference is? For which kind of circumstances each one "specializes" in? My book doesn't really go into depth about it, but my professor is making it seem like it's incredibly important (each for their own purposes...) Or perhaps have a good source where I can find some information in-depth on this subject?