• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Tomcat webapp deploys and can be accessed locally, but returns a 404 when accessed remotely

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello,

I'm a relatively newbie to both Java programming and Apache Tomcat, but I've been asked to deploy two existing webapps to a fresh installation of Tomcat. Post-deployment, both webapps are listed as deployed and running within the Tomcat Manager web UI and are accessible via web browser when connected via RDP to the hosting server. However, when I attempt to access them from a browser session on my workstation, one works without issue, while the other is returning a 404 error. Both of these webapps function properly in another Tomcat environment, so I believe that it may be an issue with how this particular instance of Tomcat is configured. I've searched online for a few hours, but I'm not making any meaningful headway and happened upon this forum during my search. I'm using Apache Tomcat 7.0.57 hosted on a Windows Server 2008 R2 box and attempting to access the webapps through both IE and Firefox. Thank you for taking the time to read this post and I appreciate any troubleshooting tips or ideas that can be offered.

Ranch Hand
Mac PPC Eclipse IDE Ubuntu
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies