• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Junit test case for Swapping progam

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am new to Junit, i want to know how to write test case for swapping program. Below is a code for which i want o know junit tests case.

Bartender
IntelliJ IDE Firefox Browser Spring Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
First of all, do you know that your method does not actually swap passed values?
What is being swapped are local copies of those variables (named a and b).

Java Cowboy
Android Scala IntelliJ IDE Spring Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
That method does not have any effects; if you look at it from the outside, it essentially does nothing. It doesn't return the values of the variables a and b, and since Java method calls are pass-by-value only, if you call this method with two variables then their values will not be swapped. You'll have to return the swapped values in some way.

Because the method doesn't have any effects that are visible outside of the method, it will not be possible to write a unit test for it, because there is nothing to check.

Sheriff
IntelliJ IDE Python Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I moved this into our Testing Forum.