• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Removal of Carriage return / newline with do-while loop questions

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
So i am a beginner in Java and learning from a book. I understand how a do-while loop works. It runs at least one time, and the condition is tested at the bottom. If it's false, the loop ends. Now i have a question about a little part in the following code:

The book explains this: Here is why this loop is needed: As explained earlier, System.in is line buffered—you have to
press ENTER before characters are sent. Pressing ENTER causes a carriage return and a line feed
character to be generated. These characters are left pending in the input buffer. This loop
discards those characters by continuing to read input until neither is present.

I googled for an hour, looked in video's but could not find an in depth answer. I tested the program without the loop, and then it prints "Sorry you're wrong' two times. I understand that when i choose a letter and press enter, a carriage return and newline character is also created. I don't really understand how this loop prevents that these unwanted characters are used. It's this loop: