• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

try catch using JOptionPane

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all, I'm new in programming, so please help . my program is running but I am trying to add the 'try catch' to catch the invalid input for direction from user. how do I do this ? I am not familar with try-catch at all, so I dont know what to do. thanks

Marshal
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Welcome to the Ranch

I have added code tags to your post, removed some of the unnecessary empty lines and broken the last line because it was too long. Doesn't it look better You can see how to break the long line, too.

Why are you using option pane in the first place? It is very old‑fashioned programming style. I would suggest you don't use try‑catch otherwise the method, which is already too long, will become even longer. You should have methods which gets input from the keyboard, e.g. getNextInt. I would suggest you should use a Scanner. This is how you could write a getNextInt method, assuming inScan is a Scanner pointing to System.in.
Sanner inScan = new Scanner(System.in); ...Rob Spoor taught me that technique years ago. There is no risk of an Exception.
You can swap lines 6 and 7 if you wish.

You can read all about Exceptions in the Java™ Tutorials.

Jenn Tran
Greenhorn