• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Should I create a new domain for each web application I develop?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm new to WebLogic. I'm trying to understand Managed Servers and domains and the differences between them and how I should use them.

I am developing with Eclipse and just happened to notice that when I try to start my web application that is currently open, several errors come up in the console because WebLogic server is trying to do something with my other applications in the same domain, but are not open in my current instance of Eclipse.

It made me wonder if I should use a different domain for each web application I develop? My other projects are stored in different workspaces on my computer but WebLogic is picking them up because all of them use the wlserver domain.

In addition, if I create a domain, do I need to create a managed server in that domain? This all has me very confused. I'm a new Java Programmer just getting started.

Bartender
Mac OS X Linux Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Ramdu Johnson wrote:I'm trying to understand Managed Servers and domains and the differences between them and how I should use them.