• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Use Memory in Java

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi guys,

i'm studying the memory in java and i learned that:

1) local variable are in the stack
2) instance variable and object are in the heap

where are in the memory static members? and the code of methods?

Is there some useful documentation?

thank you very much

Marshal
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Welcome to the Ranch

That is one of the things you do not actually need to know.

Luca Olivieri
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Campbell Ritchie wrote:Welcome to the Ranch

That is one of the things you do not actually need to know.

Thank Ritchie,

I think it was wrong section, I'm not new in Java and I would like to improve my knowledge.

Manuals where I studied Java have not I ever speak of memory for static members and so I'm trying to search the web of explanation.

How can I move my post in a section more appropriate?

Campbell Ritchie
Marshal
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
You have looked in the wrong manual. Try the BCEL manual which will tell you that static fields live in the Class<Foo> object. (I think.)

Bartender
Hibernate Eclipse IDE Ubuntu
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies