• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

What's happening: integer array?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hey guys,

Totally new to this site and just started playing with Java yesterday! So er, yeah, total nooby here

I am trying to understand how this is working? It is an exercise from another website.

int[] aryNums = {24, 6, 47, 35, 2, 14 };

Arrays.sort(aryNums);
int lastArrayNumber = aryNums.length - 1;
System.out.println("Highest Number: " + aryNums[lastArrayNumber]);

The task is to print out the highest value in the array, but I don't really understand what's happening to make that happen. Here's what I see happening:
So, the array "aryNums" is created and a value is added to each cell within that array in the order stated between { }. Arrays.sort will then sort in ascending order the values of the cells. This is where I don't get what's happening... The following line "int lastArrayNumber = aryNums.length - 1;". What is being specified in that line that will display the highest number? And how is it doing that?

Very noob I know, but hey, we all have to start somewhere

Thanks in advance for any help with this.

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
When you declare an array you either have to specify the length like this

or