• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

A task from H. Schildt - Java a beginner's guide 6th edition.

Greenhorn
Oracle Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi racnh!
Being an absolute beginner in Java, want to sorry for my interpretation of programming terms and sorry for my English
I read H.Schildt - Java A Beginner's Guide 6th edition. As I understood, we can not convert (cast) boolean types into another, like int or char for example. If I'm mistaken, please correct my mind ))
So, I need a help with a task# 6 on 85th page (I read russian translation of the book).

We have some code there:

The output of the code:
P Q AND OR XOR NOT
true true true true false false
true false false true true false
false true false true true true
false false false false false true

An the task says to rework the code thus the output should contain "1" instead of logical "true" and "0" instead of "false".
Please, give me the cue, how to solve this. Thanks in advance!

Sheriff
Eclipse IDE Postgres Database VI Editor Chrome Java Ubuntu
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
First, let's look at the code you have. These four lines are repeated four times.

Do you know how to create methods other than main()? When you see repeated code, it should go in a method.