• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Deprecation in Java

Greenhorn
  • Likes 3
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am a researcher looking into the deprecation mechanism of Java. We found that most developers when they encounter a deprecated feature, prefer not to react to it. That is they do not remove the reference to the deprecated feature and replace it with the recommended replacement. I was wondering as to why this might be the case? Is it a deficiency in the deprecation mechanism itself? Or do developers not have time. It would be awesome if some of the experienced heads here could fill out our survey to answer this: http://www.surveygizmo.com/s3/3754964/Deprecation-reaction

Sheriff
IntelliJ IDE Python Java Linux
  • Likes 2
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Done. It'd be great if you'd come back and share your findings with us.

Marshal
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Welcome to the Ranch