Why should you try IntelliJ IDEA ?

What is IntelliJ IDEA?

It's a smart Java development IDE that can 'think'! ~ 'nuff said

IntellI IDEA

Enjoy productive Java!

Every aspect of IntelliJ IDEA is specifically designed to maximize developer productivity. Together, powerful static code analysis and ergonomic design make development not only productive but also an enjoyable experience.

Expert opinion from Coderanch Staff

See what the top staff at coderanch has to say

Andrew Monkhouse

Marshal Commander, Coderanch

I’ve been using IntelliJ IDEA for several years now, and it is my IDE of choice. It makes development much easier.

While having all the IDE features you would expect, IntelliJ also has many small features built in that make coding and refactoring a breeze. Some examples:

• It keeps track of when methods are being used, so it will tell you if your method is not being used anywhere in the project. As IntelliJ puts it – “I see dead code”.
  • It displays context information in your calls to methods, so that you can see what the name of the variable is on the receiving side. If you have ever called a method with something like: “doSomething(true, false);” you will appreciate the context information like: “doSomething( true, false);”
  • This also works with variable suggestions in your method calls – if you have just created a variable of the right type to be a parameter, it will be an auto-complete suggestion when you start typing the method call.
  • Highlighting on screen makes it clear where your blocks of code are delineated, whether they are separated by braces or they are separated by methods.