• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Java GUI Builders?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I have been doing Java for about six months and I have been using text pad. My question is are their any tools out there that allow you to drag and drop when creating GUIS with swing and AWT. I am working on a project and I really would like to speed things up. Thanks.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
There are many tools that provide visual GUI building, such as JBuilder, Visual Cafe, etc. I never liked using these tools because they suck and you'll learn much more if you do it yourself. Also, building swing applications are easy and fast once you get he hang of it.
SAF

author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Since this is a perfect topic for the "IDE's and Other tools" forum, I'm going to move it there.
Sean

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
JBuilder is far superior to Visual Cafe. To get something done while using Cafe is an achievement because it tries to hinder you every step of the way. By contrast, I never had any major problems with JBuilder. It's not perfect though.
Overallm I agree with Safrole. Get to know the swing classes and how to use them.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies