• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

curious about frontend/backend separation in GCC

Rancher
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
As a computer scientist I have often marvelled at the fact that GCC can make use of the same backend for a number of frontends. Does the book go into any detail about how to make use of this separation, i.e., how to use the frontend w/o the backend or vice-versa? An example would be a frontend for a new language, or substituting other code-processing tools for the code-generating backend. If it is covered, would you say that the book might enable a reader to start something like this? If not, are you aware of other resources that help out in this regard?

author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies