• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Netbeans -vs- eclipse

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I've been using eclipse for a few months now and have gotten pretty used to it. I tried Netbeans 5.0 a while back and didn't like it. I think comming from a Websphere Studio background eclipse was just more comfortable. However, since going to the Sun and Netbeans conferences recently I've started playing around with netbeans more and am really liking the new features that 5.5 has to offer. The visual web pack is very cool and I think would be a very good way to convert those poor lost .NET developers into our world!

I'd really love to know what everybody else thinks about the two products, and which ones you prefer and why!

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I use both, and tend to bounce back and forth. That introduces a certain "hassle factor", but I just can't decide which one to use full time. I like NB's integration with Tomcat better, and in general I like doing web development in NB. But Eclipse has some pretty compelling plugins.

I think that if we ever get to a universal plugin environment, I might stick with Netbeans, which was my first Java IDE (in the 2.x days).

author and iconoclast
Mac OS X Eclipse IDE Chrome
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies