• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

How You Guys Learn Linux

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi guys, my name is Jeffry, I'm a Java instructor. I wanted to learn Linux at my own will, I already tried to learn it but I found it was very hard to learn Linux.

I learned using the book titled "Fedora 2008 Unleashed" but I found the book is hard to learn (or maybe I'm learning it in the wrong way). Now I have the book titled "Practical Fedora and RHEL". I wish I can learn it successfully.

I wanted to know how you guys learn Linux. Thanks for your advice. In addition please tell me what else hardware I need to learn it other than the Linux-PC.

Thanks

Jeffry Kristianto Yanuar
SCJP 5.0
SCJA
SCJD (Working on UrlyBird 1.3.2)

Bartender
Mac OS X Linux Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I put my pointers in our Linux FAQ.
You don't need additional hardware. You don't even need to install Linux since you can get Live CDs or bootable flash drives.
Learning Linux is mostly a matter of sitting down, using it, getting lost and finding the way out. If there's anything in particular you have a tough time with, feel free to ask.

Jeffry Kristianto Yanuar
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies