• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Can AJAX be used to dynamically update any scoped variable storing a list of objects

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I have never used AJAX before. I really require to display huge data in an html table (Struts - display tag API) where the data is stored in a session scoped variable (rather any variable) containing a list of objects obtained as a request-response. However, currently our slow database queries and the time taken for the data to be displayed to the user makes the whole thing appear very very slow.

We currently only show a couple of thousand records each time rather than showing all the records at once and fetch the next ones on newer requests. Can AJAX be used to display a couple of 1000 records initially and then dynamically append/update data by calling methods that fetch and update the existing table data with new data until the whole data is obtained??

Can AJAX allow us to fetch any kind of data and format to possibly update a variable/parameter such as in our case containing the display table data without requiring to refresh the page?

Something like

Any suggestions or comments to this AJAX newbie are really appreciated!!

-Thanks
Rama

[ May 19, 2008: Message edited by: Rama Krishna ]