• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Code or Test first ?

author and deputy
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am still a beginner in this Agile world, so please pardon me if this question sound stupid.

What is your perspective on
"Write the Code first, then write Test" or
"Wrtie the Test first, then write the Code"

Thank you.
Regards
Balaji

author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I'm writing a book on Test-Driven Development. It's currently over 300 pages. Considering all the revisions I've made, I've probably written that 300 pages twice by now. Wanna guess which of the two I'm personally in favor of?

Balaji Loganathan
author and deputy
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Let me guess...
Write the test first, then write the code ???

Lasse Koskela
author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Yes, I definitely think TDD helps me develop better software than the traditional test-after approach.

Lasse Koskela
author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Originally posted by Lasse Koskela:
Yes, I definitely think TDD helps me develop better software than the traditional test-after approach.