• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Inverse Question

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am fairly new to hibernate and I've finished the tutorial here (which is great by the way). But I am still confused about the use of the "inverse" property.

My database has a many-to-many bi-directional relationship between zipcodes and notifications. A notification can be sent to many zipcodes, and a zipcode can have many notifications sent to it.

From toying with the code, I can see that if I set one side of the relationship as inverse="true"

than I am unable to add a notification to a zipcode:

I am not sure what this really does for me. If I remove the "inverse" property on both sides (notifications and zip) I can add a zip to a notification, or a notification to a zip - no problem. But if I add the "inverse" property...it seems I am limiting myself, and I don't see the benefit. But according to the tutorial:

The rules you have to remember are straightforward: All bi-directional associations need one side as inverse. In a one-to-many association it has to be the many-side, in many-to-many association you can pick either side, there is no difference.

So my questions are: