• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Practical way to write persistence methods / DAO

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello guys!
How are you?

I am currently studying/using JDBC and I had a LOT of job with the last project (a lot of typing )

Is there any pattern that promotes ease of writing the persistence metods? I've read about DAO, but it doesn't like what I want (I guess DAO is more when you need to change your database and you won't have [many] problems).

I know that is a good thing to separate all the persistence code from the business.

Here's some code, a simple example of a bean that I want to save in a table.
Should I create another class that works with Student objects and save, select and update them?

Thanks very much.
Kathy & Bert you guys rule!

author
jQuery Eclipse IDE Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Perhaps you should look into the Object Relational forum, since it sounds like you may be interested in methods such as Hibernate and JDO. Also, keep in mind large enough systems may still require some knowledge of JDBC for certain queries.

Bartender
Hibernate Eclipse IDE Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies