• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Java Greenhorn Insearch of Profound SCJP Certification Advice

Greenhorn
Android IntelliJ IDE Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello World,

I am a Self Professed Java newb. I would like to thank the everyone who has contributed to this web site. I have found the ranch an invaluable tool (being a native texan I am comfortable on any kinda ranch!) and would encourage all to kick in the 5 bucks in support of the community. But my question is ....

What else can I do other than read, code, and practice test? Is there any type of hallmark that I can look for to know that I am ready to sit for the test??? A Percentage on Practice Exams. I feel fairly confident ... but then i read thinks like 'Dont feel bad if you fail!' That shakes my confidence and sends me to studying more. Any advice would be appreciated. :roll:

Thanks
-chorizo

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I would suggest Dan Chisholm's mock exams. Try those and, if you're consistently scoring well enough to pass, you'll be just fine for the real exam. That's the best indicator I've seen.