• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Applets / JDBC never the twain to meet?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all.

Let me start by writing that I am new to Java which might explain my question.

I am looking to write a java applet that reads from a Access database table located on the same server. The applet reads the table and creates a formated family tree. The applet can also write new entries into the table.

I know about security exceptions during runtime - but is such a thing possible? That is to say if I upload the html page with the applet on it - can the applet happily read and write to the database if I set up permissions and so forth at the start and then just leave it?

If such an apparently straight foward way of creating my family tree thing is not possible - what would be the next most likely solution?

I would appreciate any advice to point me in the right direction..

Thanks All.

Rancher
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Welcome to JavaRanch.

Access requires an ODBC connection to be set up (in order for the JDBC/ODBC bridge to work), and I'm fairly certain that you can't do that over a TCP/IP network, through firewalls and all.

It might work if all machines running the applet (and the server with the Access DB) are on the same network, though.