• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Advice please...

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
First, I will present the forum with the history of my problem.
I have been working with a company for the last 2 years. I am employee number one. I have met or beat all my deadlines and, been very loyal to the company.
There have been periods where us the employees have gone without pay to help the company succeed.
Now, with the bulk of the history out of the way here is my problem. About 6 months after I was hired we hired a young lady to program for us. Unfortunately she failed miserabley. However we all liked her and did not want to let her go. With that we moved her to support. She has done very well in support. Well we just recieved another infusion of funding and I was told that this young lady was going to run the day to day operations of the company (Evaluations etc...) and was asked if I had a problem with this.
Well I will admit, I do. I voiced that I would not accept her doing my evaluations. (Please do not think this is based on sex. I am a father of 3 girls and have answered to females in the past) This is a matter of technical expertise. I am the only programmer that has been hired by the company that is still a programmer. The other programmer hire is now a tester.