• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Writing a simple login app using JSP & MS Access

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello,

I'm a newbie to the Servlets and JSP world. I was reading the excellent primer on Servlets and JSP titled "Head first Servlets and JSP." I have read a few chapters and wish to utilize my knowledge so far in writing a simple login program using JSP. The database that contains ID's and passwords will be in MS Access. I am using Tomcat as the container. My initial questions are:

1. How do I access the database from the JSP? Are there examples on the internet that show me how to do it? Do I have to use JDBC?

2. Do I have to have a separate front end HTML page that handles the login and then forwards the request to the JSP, or can the JSP itself be the front end?

3. Do I need to write an XML deploment descriptor for the JSP?

I have these questions for now and would appreciate any help that I can get. I will continue to post more questions in this thread as I progress.

Thanks in advance for helping me.
Sincerely,
Rajneesh

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi,

1. How do I access the database from the JSP? Are there examples on the internet that show me how to do it? Do I have to use JDBC?