• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

new j2ee developer now, what to do next?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am a new j2ee developer.

After so many certifications, I finally got a j2ee job.

However, while having this job, what else should I do? Should I self-study other related technologies that are not used at my workplace? I am not familiar with the changes that go on this career.

(My previous career is mainframe/cobol development. What I learned 10 years ago on a 3 months training is the same cobol/db2/cics that I used up to my latest mainframe job. It is a very different static kind of technology career.)

I am concerned about being complacent and becoming obsolete.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Jesus,

Java field is very dynamic !!! lots of frame works, standards whoa thats handfull !!!

If I was you, I would first try to be comfortable with the current technologies I work on a day to day basis..like may be core java,Object Oriented Analysis and Design.

Once I have a hang of it or feel confident, start sprending your reach to other frame works, just knowing and doing little stuff will do.

Have a list of your favourite blogs on tech, articles, good forums like this will definitely add value in the long run.

Wish you all success !!!

---Ayub