• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Need job related advice (Java)

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello,

I have been offered a job in a large financial company as a java developer (One among ML, JP, Lehman, etc) in Mumbai, India.

I have 2 years experience and am working at a much smaller company but for a salary above the industry average (in mumbai atleast)

What i would like to ask is, that what should my salary expectations be over here? the salary negotiations are not yet completed, and i needed a figure to quote.

Also, how is working in these financial companies like? during the interview i was told that it would be a high pressure job with long hours, etc.
also, it might be core java only, so i might lose touch with newer enterprise technologies in java.

on the positive side, i would get a lot of finacial domain knowledge..

so i would love you hear your opinions on this...

Thanks
Francis

Author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
positives are

-- gain domain knowledge in finance
-- finance/insurance industry pay is better but expect you to work long hours
-- brand name will look good on your resume

negatives

-- you may lose touch withh enterprise java technologies
-- long hours

You need to weight out what you need.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful