• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Classpath, JARs and Cygwin

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello.

I am currently studying for the SCWCD 1.4 exam using the Head First book on Servlets and JSPs. I'm in the 3rd chapter where you develop and depoly a small MVC webapp (about beer).

I've got the J2SE 5 SDK update 4 and Tomcat 5.5.
Here's what I entered into my Cygwin bash shell on Windows XP (adapted from pg. 85 in the HF book):

Here's the top two errors I got:

What I figured was going on in the javac command was this: look in the normal place where you'd find classes (i.e. J2SE 5.0 API) and also look in the specified location (the Tomcat JAR). I guess neither of those locations have javax.servlet.

I checked the J2SE 5.0 API docs and javax.servlet isn't there. I'm not exactly sure how to see what's inside tomcat's JAR file.

I checked the J2EE 1.4 API docs and saw that it does have javax.servlet. So, I downloaded the Sun Java System Application Server Platform Edition 8.1 2005Q2 UR2 which includes the J2EE 1.4 API.

I opened a new shell after installing the J2EE stuff and it gave the same problem. Where is javax.servlet? Where does javac look without any classpath arguments? How do I change that? How do I find what packages are contained in which JAR files?