• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Programming Techniques

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Friends
I am new to Java
My java class file size is 15 k now.
Is there anyway to reduce the size of class file.
I heard that the efficient way of doing programming is doing program which generates less size of class name.
is there anybody knows how to do the programming which will creates the less size class name ?
please give me some programming techniques.
Thanks in advance
Yours
Rajesh

Ranch Hand
IntelliJ IDE Spring Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Unless you really have a need, don't spend time worrying about the sizes of your classes. Worry about writing code that makes sense.

"The Hood"
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Well tinkering with the size of a classfile is really just optimization, much the same as trying to improve performance. So I thought that I would share with you some thoughts on the topic.
From "Effective Java" by Joshua Bloch (quotes that he took from elsewhere) Item 37 (page 162)

More computing sins are committed in the name of efficiency (without necessarily achieving it) than for any other single reason - including blind stupidity.
-William A. Wulf