• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Heck of a problem, please help.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hey all!!
I am new to Java. I am supposed to create 3 classes under one project/package, and I am to access thoes classes using the specific methods and data members that my wacked out instructor gave me.
Here is the question: (I am only going to show the part that I am having trouble with)
Create the following classes:
Class GeoObj
data members:
Coordinate2D coord;
Type2D type;
public methods:
public void setCoord
public Coordinate2D getCoord
I know how to go between the main method and interface the methods in a class using any object that I create. But how do you write a Method like the two above that actually go into another class and get and set what the Coordinate2D class is getting and setting? I am only allowed to use one object called myObj to access all of the other classes including the Coordinate2D class.
By the way the Coordinate2D class:
data members:
int xpos, int ypos;
public methods:
public void setXpos;
public int getXpos;
public void setYpos;
public int getXpos;
I have no trouble with this class because I tested it with new objects in the main method(basically bypassing the GeoObj class methods).
anyway, here is my code sample from the GeoObj class.