• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Sending email from java. Pls Help!!!

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello,
I'm a newbie to Java programming. I want to write a program that will send out emails. So far, i know use Javamail, you need to download Javamail API and place it to your classpath. COuld someone please help me out with the following questions before i start programming.
1. How do i get the host name for SMTP server? ( My ISP is rogers cable in toronto)
2. i don't have outlook express setup. I want to use my hotmail account to send out emails. can i send out email from different domains: yahoo, hotmail using the hostname of SMTP server of my ISP provider?
3. If anyone's using rogers highspeed. COuld you tell me the hostname because i called them up and they told me the hostname is simply"smtp". Rogers don't have the reputation of answering questions correctly.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. THanks a lot.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi,
well I quickly looked at their website (www.rogers.com), and I am guessing the smtp hostname is "smtp.rogers.com".
You can also supply any email address (the sending email address doesn't necessarily have to be from user@rogers.com).