• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

New to Java Web Application

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello
I am a bit new to java since I was coding in php,vb,asp.
I have now got to make a Java+MySQL application/site.
I understand JSP is for website like php,asp,cfm.
Applet is for embedding in the browser.
So what if I need to make an application that is accessed by clients from the server ? Normally these are done using sites via the browser. But i read that using Java Web Start it is possible to run server apps ? How doe this work and what is j2ee ?
Thanks for any help !
Anjanesh

Ranch Hand
IntelliJ IDE Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hello Anjanesh,

You are asking some pretty big questions in your post; so much so that there are books dealing with just the individual parts of your question. Here are some quick summaries for you. But ultimately, you have a lot of research and learning ahead of you to fully answer all your questions.

So what if I need to make an application that is accessed by clients from the server ? Normally these are done using sites via the browser.