• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Sorting Array of Strings

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Greetings to all. This is my first time using this forum, and it is kind of an emergency, so I hope for quick responses. I believe this is a beginner problem.

I am enrolled in an Introductory Java Programming class, and seem to be having issues grasping some of the concepts. Our teacher recently gave us an assignment of making a program that contains an array of names. It must count and display number of vowels in the string (name). It also must display in alphabetical order the names. The name sort is to be in a seperate method. I think I have it thus for, but it seems not to be working. Could someone help me work the kinks out?

Rory Scott

[ EJFH -- Added CODE tags to preserve formatting. ]
[ November 15, 2004: Message edited by: Ernest Friedman-Hill ]

author and iconoclast
Mac OS X Eclipse IDE Chrome
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Rory,

Welcome to JavaRanch!

Hmm. This is rather a lot to pack into one assignment.

First, the vowel-counting looks mostly OK to me, if the point is to count all the vowels in all the words; otherwise, it needs a bit of rearranging. In particular, the println() call would move inside the outer loop.