• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

methods, instances and arrays - swimming in the ocean of java

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello all,
Nice community you have here.
I've got a question about something that has been keeping me busy for a day or too. I'm a beginner at java, and i'm not really good at explaining stuff with their names, because i dont know them, so please excuse me, and correct me if i'm wrong

My problem is:
My main class(which contains the "main" method), creates an instance of a smaller class. The smaller class has an Arraylist in it, and i .add() things in it from my main class. I also created a method which gets the .size() of the array, so the main class knows its size. So far so good. I know though that outside the {brackets} of the main method, the instance does not exist.

Problem is I want to have a .toString() method in my main class, which returns the size of the array, but i cant do that, because i cant call the size() method outside the main class's main method, simply because it doesnt exist.