• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Convert String to operator(+*/-) ,please help

Ranch Hand
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,

I am new to programming.

I am trying to do the foolowing program.

I am using Stack class to calculate simple arithmetic expressions involving integers,
such as 1+2*3.your program would execute operations in the order given,without regarding to the precedence of operators.
*Thus, the expression 1+2*3 should be calculated (1+2)*3=9,not 1+(2*3)=7.

If i get the input as 1+2*3,i know how to convert the string 1,2,3 to Integer.but i don't know how to covert +,* from string type to operator.

Please help me to find out.

author and iconoclast
Mac OS X Eclipse IDE Chrome
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi,

"Operators" aren't a Java data type; there's no way to convert a String to an operator. What you would do instead is write code that does a certain operation based on the contents of a String; i.e., one simple way might something like

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies