• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Read File

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello, I'm still fairly new to Java. For our assignment we were to create a shopping list.
The specs were to create four classes:
--Grocery - contains each item
--GList - contains the node based list
--InvalidAisleException - for invalid aisles
--Testclass

Our input file look as follows:
4 (items in the list)
milk (item)
4 (aisle)
bread
eggs
cheese

I can get the program to work by plugging the values in as such

I am not real sure where to actually put
Scanner File1 = new Scanner(new FileReader("filename"));
Should this go in my testing class or in a method in my Glist?
I'm also not real sure on how to take what I get from a file and store it into the linked list. I know with a loop, but I'm confused on linked lists. Would this be done in a similar fashion as with an array?

Shananne DuFrame
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I got it working in my testing program...

Marshal
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies