• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

What is the best linux distro to use for a programmer...

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi everyone,

I am a complete newbie to linux and now barely anything about it. Could someone kindly guide me towards the best distro to use if I am keen to become a programmer. ( I have been told lnix knowledge is essential for a programmer)

Thanks

Java Cowboy
Android Scala IntelliJ IDE Spring Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Well, you're not going to get a definite answer to that question. There really is not that big of a difference between Linux distributions.

I use Ubuntu and I really like it. It's easy to install and works well and is still the most popular desktop Linux distribution. In Ubuntu 8.04 (the current version) you have the choice of several different Java implementations: Sun Java 5 or 6, or OpenJDK Java 6 (which is almost the same as Sun Java 6). All the development tools work great on Ubuntu, including Eclipse, NetBeans, Tomcat, etc.

There's a lot of software available for Ubuntu and it has a lively community of people who are willing to help newbies.

Have a look at DistroWatch for a comparison between Linux distributions.