• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

RestFul web services with Axis 2

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi All,

I am new to web service and I have to implement RESTFul web service using Axis2.
I have created the service and it is working fine when tested with normal http client.
But when I am trying to call it through other client getting error saying content-type required. When set the content type in client code getting other error which says can not create SOAPEnvelop for REST.

Has enyone faced the same issue ever and able to resolve? If so please tell me how to do it?

Bartender
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Originally posted by yash wardhan:
I am new to web service and I have to implement RESTFul web service using Axis2.

Both Axis 2 and JAX-WS claim to support RESTful web services - in my opinion they are not ideal for the development of RESTful web services.
That is why JAX-RS (JSR-311) was developed which is currently implemented in Jersey and then there is also Restlet.

I'm not expecting the REST support under JAX-WS (and Axis2) to develop any further and wouldn't be surprised if it was deprecated in the future. So it may make more sense for you to switch to an alternative framework whose main focus is the development of RESTful web services.