• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Creating a table with a checkbox column dynamically in JSF

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Dear Sirs and Madams,
I am very new to JSF and would appreciate any help on the current issue am having. I have data being displayed on a browser via a JSF table, and the table is bound to a userVOArray attribute on the managed bean. All works well and I have a able of users displayed (first name, last name, user type etc). As the array is populated by data pulled from a database, its size changes depending on users being added or deleted. I wish to add a column of checboxes to the table allowing me to delete a user whose corresponding checkbox has been checked. How would I go about this please?

Thanking you profusely in advance,
Nick

Saloon Keeper
Android Eclipse IDE Tomcat Server Redhat Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
JSF is based on the Model/View/Controller architecture. So the view (datatable) can only display what's in the model.

Your problem is that the original rows of the datatable don't possess a "delete me" attribute.