• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

A little help for a total beginner?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello hello,

Hope you're all well. This is my first post on this forum, but it was recommended by this textbook I stumbled upon (Head First Java). I find myself not understanding some really basic stuff, and have unfortunately run out of time to get it on my own. A little help would be immensely appreciated! Be patient, I'm a real doofus when it comes to coding... ;)

Here's the crux:

There are two things I don't understand:
1) is the first statement in the while loop creating a second array, in our hq array?
2) what is the statement hq[x].id = x actually doing (specifically the .id part)? I thought the . operator meant you were calling a method?

Thanks for your time!

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Please use code tags next time

1) is the first statement in the while loop creating a second array, in our hq array?