• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Returning a value from a Netbeans / SWING application

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi everyone. Some background on myself. Former AS/400 guy, recently downsized and unemployed. Taking this “opportunity” to learn java. I’m fairly new to Java and Netbeans. Since I’m unemployed and not in an organization with ‘experts’, I’m trying to find resources for help. I’m in ATLanta so I’ve joined www.ajug.org in hopes of networking with folks to find resources. I’ve also applied for some “Obama Bucks” in order to take some classes. Until then I was hoping someone could ask you “Good Folks” down on the javaranch for some help!

I’ve developed the security structure and a dynamic menu for a SWING application that uses MySQL. I’ve developed lots of SWING apps and compiled the classes that perform TABLE maintenance (Insert/Update/Delete) on the ‘static’ tables my application will use.
NOW, I’m getting into the ‘nitty-gritty’ of the application. I’m continuing to stumble over ‘pretty simple stuff’ that I believe a ‘SWING Application Architect’ or one of you Netbeans/SWING experts could readily answer.

Concerning Netbeans and Returning a value from a SWING class.
Netbeans creates two or more .java files in my projects.