• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Java with Ruby

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi David,

I am a java programmer willing to learn Ruby following just one book.

Does TWGR provide a working example to develop a standalone web application (I dunno if its possible) using only Ruby.

I know that Ruby and Java can work together using JRuby. In your book, do you explain us how and why we use them together with a working example. Or is it entirely Ruby oriented.

Thank you,
-Himalay

author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Himalay --

There's no Web development material in the book, and no Ruby/Java examples; it's all focused on the Ruby language itself. You can certainly develop standalone Web apps with Ruby, either with some of the basic tools like the CGI library or by rolling your own. There's also the Rack library, which implements a very simple spec for Web apps that make it almost trivial to write one.

David

Himalay Majumdar
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
David:

Being a J2EE programmer (still have to learn many other technologies in it), I am hesitating to dive completely in Ruby.