• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

maven clean war

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
This is my first time with maven. I've used ant before, though.

This is what a document which is given to me says:
1. Setup maven (this includes installing maven, and setting up maven's bin folder in path).
Now we have quite a few folders in our application and each folder represents a web application. These web applications are deployed as WAR files. So basically we use maven to build these web applications.
The document says:
2. Open command prompt, go into any web application folder, run following command: mavan clean war
Surprisingly this commands create a war file (web-application-folder-name.war) in target folder, the target folder is a folder in web application folder. For example, if I have a web application folder c:/application/webapp1 and I run this command from this location, I'll eventually have a war file named webapp1.war in c:/application/webapp1/target folder.
After this step I get this war file from here and deploy it on server.

I am able to do that as document suggested but have no clue what's happening behind the scene.