• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Help with jsp beans

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi ,
I'm new to jsp beans,I'm setting the bean values from trial.jsp and trying to retrieve from trial2.jsp. But the values are coming as null. Can you please help me on this.

Code of Trial.jsp

Trial2.jsp

UserInfo.java

Please help me.....

Rancher
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Welcome to JavaRanch.

Please note that the CODE tag uses square brackets ( [ ] ), not parentheses ( { } ). I have fixed this for you.

The "jsp:setProperty property="*" name="person" " line needs to be in Trials2.jsp, not Trial.jsp, because that's where the values are being set.

ann anie
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
thanks for the reply..
but how do i access the values if the target of the trial.jsp is a servlet?

can i get the java class using request.getAttribute("person")?

Ulf Dittmer
Rancher
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
No, servlets don't work that way - they're called "JSP beans" because they're used with JSPs. Servlets would use getParameter to get at individual form parameters. (As a side note, just about all web frameworks, from Struts to Stripes to Wicket, perform the parameter-to-Java field/object binding automatically.)

Author
IntelliJ IDE Ruby