• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Error message

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am new to struts. I have designed a basic log in form that contains user name and password. I need to perform some validation like if the user did not enter the user name or password., an error message should be displayed as we can do in asp.net using required field validation control. I am able to do with java script. But i have been asked to perform server side validation that is using Struts. Kindly help me.
Apologize me if this is been already posted in the forum or if it is silly question

Ranch Hand
Spring Java Ubuntu
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
OK. Its hard to read italic, colored text. Make it simple, use default.

Now to your question, If its Struts1, then google Struts commons validator OR use ActionForm#validate() method.

HTH.

Ranch Hand
Python Redhat Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

I assume you are using Struts 1.x. You can do validation in two ways, either using ActionForm validate() method(refer Struts doc site) or by using Validator plugin(which is now a part of Struts).

Using ActionForm validate method, validation has to be written for each form. Whereas by using Validator plugin, setting rules using regex is enough.

Karthik Jayachandran
Ranch Hand