• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

do i need mac os for iphone application development ?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,

I am new to iphone application development. Was just looking for pre-requisite software and os for the development.

Do i need mac os for iphone application development ? Isn't there any alternative ?

ranger
Mac IntelliJ IDE Spring
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Jigar Naik wrote:Hi,

I am new to iphone application development. Was just looking for pre-requisite software and os for the development.

Do i need mac os for iphone application development ? Isn't there any alternative ?

You have to have a Mac to run xcode and compile your applications.

There are non-native iPhone development tools that can create apps, but not true iPhone apps. There are some code generator websites.

But on the whole if you want to create a true iPhone app with the same user experience you will need xcode and a Mac. But think of it this way, Macs are above and beyond better machines, and you will never look back after getting one.

Mark

Jigar Naik
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
thanks mark..

but bad news for me... i don't have mac

clojure forum advocate
Mac Objective C Clojure
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies