• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Properties questions

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all! I am new to Java Ranch, I like this forum a lot. : )
I would like to ask about Properties.

I am programming a little application and although I have read many questions about this and documentation, I don't understand this topic very much and I don't always get it work. In my program, I have some .properties files with configuration data (as some file routes, seconds to wait in a loop inside the program...) so when I launch the program some values are going to be extracted from them. If I have to make some changes in these data, I can use the same jar modifying only the .properties files.

I am using Eclipse. And my code is organized in some packages:

src.main.java
src.main.java.util
src.main.java.view

The properties are going to be read from two different packages (default and util packages).

And I have my .properties files in a 'properties' folder (out of any package).

I began loading the Properties this way:

Later, I have implemented another method to load them in a different way but I don't know if it is better: