• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Using a form to pass non-string objects to a bean

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hey folks,

Wondered if anyone could help me out. I'm quite new to Java EE and I'm struggling a bit with some form processing in a Spring web app I'm building.

Basically the form is taking several pieces of textual input and mapping these onto fields in the model bean as expected. No biggie.

But one of the fields in the bean is not of type String, its of type Date. While text entry is certainly not the ideal format for entering a date, thats a whole other issue
I'm gonna worry about later.

What I want to know is, how can I get my JSP to take form input and package it into a date object? Or any object for that matter; and allow this object
to be passed to a field in the model class.

Apologies if my explanation is a bit sparse, at the moment I'm not sure what stuff I'm dealing with is Spring and which is plain Java EE.

Anyway, I've attached the relevant code snippets below:

JSP

Controller

Model Class

Servlet Mapping XML

Alan Faulkner
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Apologies.

Ranch Hand
Eclipse IDE Firefox Browser Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies