• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Microsoft Vs Linux : my queries

Ranch Hand
Eclipse IDE Firefox Browser Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am new to IT, so my knowledge is limited. Please share your knowledge about linux with me. I only used linux to avoid M$ malware while surfing the net. I have some queries :

1 Many people bash MS for its "poor" security ?
I feel that this is so only because its used by the majority, which makes it ideal for malware authors. I guess the day linux or MAC gains say, 90% of the market share it will suffer the same fate too.

2 Most apps are written for MS and this is a convenience. Is it a positive outcome of MS dominance ?

3 Is there any serious competition to MS in the "office" front ? Long time ago, open office did not seem good enough to me.

4 Who should learn RedHat and why ?

all perspectives are welcome.

rb

Bartender
Mac OS X Linux Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Rahul Sudip Bose wrote:
1 Many people bash MS for its "poor" security ?